Avatar Arena is a 2D action fighting game based on the world of the cartoon TV series Avatar: The Last Airbender. In this game, you will choose a nation to fight for, create your own bender, and defeat 20 benders in the ultimate world-wide tournament. 

The game synopsis reads: “enter the wonderful world of the Avatar universe and create your own character to challenge the world’s best benders in Avatar Arena! Master your skills and become the ultimate master bender! Defeat other benders and master benders to prove that you’re the best!”

In Avatar Arena, you get to challenge the world’s fiercest Firebenders, the most agile of Airbenders, the toughest Earthbenders, the unpredictability of the ever fluid waterbenders and even the ever impregnable chi bending as you compete in the tournament with your pride, honor, and name at stake.

About Avatar Arena

Avatar Arena

Avatar Arena was an online game published by Nickelodeon, the company that produced the Avatar: The Last Airbender show; and its subsequent spinoff series, comics and graphic novels. The game can be classified under the game genre of Rumble. It is available on the internet platform as an online game.

Avatar Arena’s Objective

As seen from the game itself, Avatar Arena’s objective is thus: 

“Decades prior to the Great War, all four nations were living in harmony under Avatar Kyoshi’s watch. In a competitive spirit, the best bending masters from all four nations gathered in a unique tournament. A tournament that would forever be remembered. Under Kyoshi’s watchful eye, all masters bent it out until the 20 best were remaining. Whoever would win against such opponents would not only win fortune, but eternal remembrance as well.”

Controls For Avatar Arena

  • Mouse – Navigate
  • Left Mouse Button – Select
  • Arrow Keys – Move
  • Space – Action / Attack

Each bending form has its own moves based on the results of the actions. They are;

Avatar Arena Airbending


  • Space-bar
  • Up arrow key, space-bar
  • Down arrow key, up arrow key, space-bar


  • Use the Left arrow key
  • Left arrow key, space-bar
  • Up arrow key, left arrow key, space-bar

Avatar Arena Waterbending


  • Space-bar
  • Down arrow key, left arrow key, space-bar
  • Left arrow key, up arrow key, space-bar


  • Use Left arrow key
  • Press Left arrow key, space-bar
  • Left arrow key, left arrow key, space-bar

Avatar Arena Earthbending


  • Space-bar
  • Down arrow key, down arrow key, space-bar
  • Up arrow key, down arrow key, space-bar


  • Left arrow key
  • Left arrow key, space-bar
  • Down arrow key, left arrow key, space-bar

Avatar Arena Firebending


  • Space-bar
  • Right arrow key, right arrow key, space-bar
  • Down arrow key, right arrow key, space-bar


  • Use Left arrow key
  • Press Left arrow key, space-bar
  • Then press Left arrow key, left arrow key, space-bar, space-bar

Chi Attack

All fighters from the four nations can use this move. To access Chi, while the player continuously presses the down arrow key, they should repeatedly tap the space-bar at a fast pace to fill the “chi bar” and perform a specialized attack.

Avatar Arena Instructions

Before you begin the game, you are expected to choose an avatar from one of the four nations. You will also choose the name and look of the character. After this, there are two modes that you can choose to play in; either “Training” or “Tournament”.

As seen in the previous section above, there are three types of moves you can choose to perform; attack, defense, and chi attack. Both attack and defense moves have three different levels of complexity. The higher the level you use, the more damage or defense you can deal.

The chi attack on its own, takes a long time to charge up. However, it is a very powerful move to perform when it is used successfully. All four nations differ only in the appearance of the character and their attacks; in reality a specific attack provides the same effect for any nation, with the only difference being the aesthetic.


Avatar Arena: Training Mode

The Training mode allows the player to practice and hone their skills before they enter the battle.

In the “Training” mode of the game, the player is set with the task of destroying a large statue as quickly as possible. There is no potential for any damage to the player’s health, as no enemy exists.

Avatar Arena Tournament Mode

In the “Tournament” mode, the player faces the twenty masters, all of whom are the twenty highest scorers in the game. The player must defeat the opponent in a best-of-three match to advance through the tournament; he or she scores more points for defeating the opponent more quickly. Of course, the opponents increase in difficulty as the player advances through the game.

At the end of each match (if won), the time taken to defeat the opponent is shown, as well as the points gained and total points scored. To win in the “Tournament” mode, the player must defeat all twenty opponents. This does not, however, guarantee them a spot as one of the twenty “masters”; they must score high enough to place in the top twenty high scorers.

Avatar Arena Tournament Locations

Each of the tournament’s fights takes place in different locations from the Avatar canon. They are separated by levels.

  • Battles 20 to 17 – Eastern Air Temple
  • Battle 16 to 11 – Earth Rumble VI
  • Battles 12. to 09. – Northern Water Tribe
  • Battle 08. to 04. – Fire Temple
  • Battles 03. to 01. – Ba Sing Se

Opponents To Face In The Tournament Mode

There are twenty levels, and the tournament plays in the style of the Mortal Kombat games. Each player uses their avatar to fight through 20 different opponents, till they reach the final level.

This is the order in which the opponents appears is thus:

20. Nomis – Waterbender

19. Wild Haggis – Airbender

18. Galtor – Earthbender

17. Cirederf – Firebender

16. Hamish – Earthbender

15. Master Sean – Airbender

14. Raidster – Firebender

13. Tween Sage – Waterbender

12. Pedoncuiak – Earthbender

11. Una – Waterbender

10. Hell-ene – Waterbender

09. FrostYvan – Airbender

08. Masterl Abdel – Airbender

07. ZukoGranGran – Firebender

06. StephBeauce – Earthbender

05. Bigoudididi – Waterbender

04. Madd Dogg – Earthbender

03. Fire Tongue – Firebender

02. Nhommos – Airbender

01. Torniol – Firebender

Interestingly, all the characters are male, except benders from the Water Tribe, which are female. The earthbenders, firebenders, and airbenders are all male. The airbenders in Avatar Arena all have tattoos, indicating that they were all masters. All the waterbenders in Avatar Arena have a water skin and a betrothal necklace, very much like Katara wore. 

Related Posts